Ibis In the Sky

Ibis in the Sky

Ibis in the sky, of silver crest and moon-dappled plumage,
bring back my heart from those marshes across the river.
What your beak foretells is my youth in green flowering;
a tree of malachite to raise up the florid sky.

Ibis in the sky, whose crown holds the hooked and radiant moon,
find passage for my wet soul from those tangles in dark waters.
What nets have been set against me are severed by a feather;
the luminescence of the northern sky sharp as dawn’s lance.

Ibis in the sky, from east to west your shade passes over the earth;
your companions the entourage of souls hallowed with light.
Sunbeams know them as turquoise striking the brow;
moonlight becomes them when the sun is swallowed in the west.

Ibis in the sky, may I ascend upon your wings as does the Moon-God;
his seat glittering over heaven’s navel when Ra comes home by night.
Your beak sets the Night-Ark upon its stellar course;
the moon itself bowing to your shade when over the vault you pass.

Ibis in the sky, who traverses the Unwearying Stars,
carry for me my heart in your untiring courses.
Where fall some stars beneath the flooding banks,
cause mine to rise like that holy light shining on New Year’s Day.

Ibis in the sky, who returns from Eight-Town with magic in his breast,
lend me your enchantments from the waters of the abyss.
From the Gathering of Eight you weave the fabric of the sky,
which alights in east and west as the yawning and closing horizon.

O ibis in the sky, hebi-bird of dazzling mantle and piercing bill,
you who know the millions of lights spangling the house of heaven;
take my body of mortal flesh and make of it a luminous form,
making its seat as one among those sovereign Imperishable Stars.

O ibis in the sky, whose name when spoken restores heaven’s balance;
bringing the halves of the sky together when north and south are wounded.
You who become the Whole One to shed his grace when eventide falls,
restore for me my flesh with my soul when by night the west it calls.

O ibis in the sky, whose matchless grace knows no seed of darkness;
your seat in the Wedjat Eye being filled with light where gods come calling.
Bring home for my ba-soul a portion of your wholesome light expanding;
to fill the sky where dwells my heart in the train of the Unwearying Stars.

O ibis in the sky, Lord of Eight-Town when on earth you alight,
taking the green of the Two Banks in your just grasp;
seize the warp of my heart and the weft of my Ka to knot the eternal sky;
making union of those Two Combatants in whose fists justice hides.

Ibis in the sky, upon whose crest the noble moon rises;
your portion of light is before you, through which you illumine the world.
Behind you sets the Moon-God in his predestined time;
let me rise and set with you upon the bosom of the predawn sky.

Ibis in the sky who holds me aloft in his bill of constant light;
with your Unwearying Stars you crown me to send me up by night.
A heart of malachite you have fashioned from a flame at rest;
to take its home in eternal sky where you have woven a nest.

All text copyright © 2016 Ptahmassu Nofra-Uaa

Leave a Reply

