In Peril With A Crocodile / Where My Heart Can Be Found

In Peril With A Crocodile.jpg

I followed a crocodile to the banks of the holy river;
at flood time his malachite scales meet a swollen vein of silver.
How enticing his eyes winking as perfect carnelian in the sun;
the Sun-God himself enveloped by their savage depths.

Am I naïve of his intentions as I reveal my bare thighs;
the wide smile of his jaws flashing teeth of precious ivory.
The cool river as it floods entreats hot skin to consolation;
and how the crocodile waits to bestow it from the depths.

What crocodile is this who devours hearts beneath the sky;
not a man of flesh and blood, but a god for whom the waters rise.
The flood between his legs makes green all wasted hearts;
filled like festival jars for pouring until the morning breaks.

I have an offering for Lord Sobek secreted within a jar;
a young and fresh heart like carnelian to please him.
On the eastern horizon a ruddy sun dances in time with my heart;
from the waterfalls of the south my green lord hails with vigor.

A delicate blue lotus springs up from dusky waters;
it finds its sun scintillating as turquoise from a lapis sky.
Noble crocodile has jaws to encircle the sun;
his scales a net of gold in which lotus is held secure.

Shall I become a lotus ensconced in his gilt net;
a constellation of wet petals to unfurl against his armor.
Should I be that young sun in bloom within the flood;
a harvest to please my lord when his feet drink the water.

O Lord Sobek who dwells within the water,
foremost of heart who is the Lord of Love;
bring with you from the depths my heart like the sun,
to shine forth its powers through all the murky waters.

Great Crocodile whose feet are firmly planted on the banks;
you carry the sun’s invulnerable strength upon your back.
Standing in the prow of the celestial barque when twilight calls,
the thundering drum of your voice is heard across the sky.

Beneath this ruddy sky of yours my heart has found its calling;
what danger in the current could forestall its urgent beating?
Teeth that flash threats with the charm of full moon’s mirror,
beckon my heart to brave any danger the waters hide.

I have found a joy in darkness where the waters meet the sky;
kissed by the veil of nightfall the sun has found his lover.
When the heart has ceased its struggle against life’s rushing current,
it rises from banks beneath the flood to make its home with the sun.

A blue lotus drinks the abyss;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
The Sun-God passes through the dusky veil;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
Life is swallowed by the west and reborn from eastern thighs;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
We are pulled down by the current to make union with the sun;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
The imperishable stars endure against the midnight sky;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
The caverns within the earth digest the seed of the aging sun;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
A sun that finds his power in the place where power dies;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
A golden heron nests on a mound embraced by shadow;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
A vessel all poured out may then be filled again;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.
Crocodile leads me to the womb where my seed is sown;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.

Has my offering of a youthful heart sated the lord who could eat the sun;
from his smile of turquoise beams I see my heart shimmer.
To be taken by the flood is nothing to a foolhardy lover;
through the pangs of love’s snare does the sun gather his resilience.

In peril with a crocodile I am transformed into the sun,
to become sky’s sacred light where darkness is undone.
By night my light is swallowed to journey where souls are bound;
beneath the dark waters where my heart can be found.

All text copyright © 2016 Ptahmassu Nofra-Uaa

Leave a Reply

