When Sokar Lifts Me Up

When Sokar Lifts Mer

In the mysterious region where terror swims,
the Gods of twilight come to the hidden mound;
where the sky of nocturnal hours is torn,
its mount of the beginning surpassing the veil.

Who is this god rending the fabric of the midnight sky,
who enters the Secret Shrine effusing heavenly myrrh?
To speak His name is to order the vault with a shout;
His name of Sokar splitting the brow of the celestial below.

This is where the dead come wrapped in a shroud
to receive the earth at the Place of the Hauling;
where the Unwearying Stars ornament the roof of the Duat,
opening up for the footfall of their lord.

Here the Sun-God travels to receive His ba by night;
His ram-soul becoming the fruit of gold birthed by secret fire.
Whose flame is lighted in the sky to give the Sun his mantle?
To call the name of Sokar is to rend night’s stifling veil.

Sokar Lord of the Mysterious Region has claimed the western sky;
His double wings astride two banks where Ra in weakness comes.
The ba-soul of this Great God ascends at Sokar’s stellar call;
and this is where all sleeping souls rise when by night they fall.

I was given a shroud by the Goddess of Weaving;
Her weft of magic fell from the sky to clothe me in its light.
The Duat’s eyes can see me now ascending tightly bound;
but why should I need a clinging shroud when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a spear of heavenly metal by the two great hands of Ptah;
His craft beyond reproach has seeded the sky with constellations.
O Ptah Lord of the Sky whose spear defeats the serpent’s coils;
why should I need a spear when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a lotus by the Lion Son of Ra’s great flaming eye;
His perfume found me resting soundly on the western shore.
The petals in which the Sun is hidden revivified my senses;
but why should I need a lotus when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a collar of gold fashioned by the Sun’s rays dawning;
the east being filled with glittering praise from sky’s dazzling eye.
Ra Himself placed turquoise charms about my flaxen throat;
but why should I need a collar of gold when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a knot of red jasper to hang about my neck;
the magic savor of the Goddess Auset which drives the demons aground.
Circle me with your blood O Goddess and make my members strong;
but why should I need a knot of jasper when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a golden pillar to raise me from the earth;
its rungs like a ladder guided feet to abounding stars imperishable.
Constellations saw my ladder pierce the starry veil;
but why should I need a pillar of gold when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a heart of ruddy stone which glistens in the moon;
his luminous rays to fall in grace to guide me as a bird.
My heart could soar like that Benu-bird of Ra’s most glorious soul;
but why should I need a heart of stone when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a headrest of venerable metal which fell from the morning sky;
the magic of the world above to carry me to the Sun.
Sky’s potent curve could shield my head from harm above or below;
but why should I need a headrest in the clouds when Sokar lifts me up?

I was given a coffin of tamarisk wood in which my limbs could rest;
the lid was the vault of heaven’s mother clad in unwearying stars.
Her incomparable beauty sees the blushing stars falling;
why should I need a coffin in the sky when Sokar lifts me up?

O Sokar Lord of the Hidden Shrine whose watery region becomes you;
I give you praise whose voice strikes awe when it sounds in the Henu Barque!

Fists beat breasts in the sky when you rise;
may I rise with you!
The western mount trembles by night when you rise;
may I rise with you!
The eastern gap is further torn when you rise;
may I rise with you!
Your gold becomes the turquoise of the earth when you rise;
may I rise with you!
Your atef-crown stretches up through the clouds when you rise;
may I rise with you!
The blood of the rebel-serpent fills the sky when you rise;
may I rise with you!
West’s secret mound tears the Duat when you rise;
may I rise with you!
The anet-fish leads the waters when you rise;
may I rise with you!
The sparrowhawk of gold alights when you rise;
may I rise with you!
The horns of the orxy rut when you rise;
may I rise with you!
The Henu Barque cuts through the banks of stars when you rise;
may I rise with you!
All the bau-souls of the Sacred West rise when you rise;
may I rise with you!

O Lord who is upon your sand, radiant of face in the twilight hour,
your black mound finds me as a dweller upon the banks;
I come forth when your shouts call the Sun from his hallows,
when the east becomes your cleft of gold where the souls are reborn.

I was given the earth in the west and the sky in the east;
the mound where the Sun-God rests and the vault where His mirror shines.
How beautiful to taste black earth and smell the reborn sky;
but why should I need earth or sky when Sokar lifts me up.

All text copyright © 2016 Ptahmassu Nofra-Uaa

Leave a Reply

