Ra Sent Me A Swallow

Ra Sent Me A Swallow

Ra sent me a horizon filling the east with light,
its luminous arms welcoming me as my cradle.
Newly born, I rise up to you O Mother Sky,
your body of gold encompassing my horizon.

Ra sent me a star ascending the eastern vault;
the west is unknown where my striking rays lead the sky.
I call the heavenly bodies to follow in my retinue;
my body of gold and turquoise possessing the light of millions.

Ra sent me a snake swimming the waters above,
his coils the passage of millions of years.
Encircling the abyss of yesterday and today,
he is the devourer whom the earth’s ages fear.

Ra sent me a crocodile to swallow the depths;
his malachite stride crossed years in a single bound.
I have become those jaws dreaded by the abyss,
my valiant bite holding the terror of the midday sun.

Ra sent me a mountain from the depths of the flood,
its peak of gold piercing the hallowed veil of the sky.
Rise O you mountain beyond the realm of wet shadow;
lend me the strength of your vast and enduring years!

Ra sent me a flood to carry me home;
her starry back rose as a shrine for the Elder Sun.
I carried his ba-soul in my unveiled arms;
his light became my succor while traversing unknown waters.

Ra sent me a swallow perched on sky’s edge,
his ruddy face welcoming the mirror of the sun.
Whose countenance shines back from the star-clad vault;
my own rising high to cut the air with golden wings.

Ra sent me a heron of rosy-gold splendor;
his wet feet pulled the ancient earth from its slumber.
Earth’s sleep shall not find me when heron becomes me;
our plumage of dappled light igniting the earth with turquoise.

Ra sent me a lotus from beneath the dusky flood,
its lapis petals kissing the sky-clad body of the sun.
Whose body so rises that it brightens dark horizons;
my visage of divine electrum from which creation blooms.

All text copyright © 2016 Ptahmassu Nofra-Uaa

One thought on “Ra Sent Me A Swallow

Leave a Reply

