Sacred Verses (26): I Go Forth as a Jabiru

I Go Forth as a Jabiru

This is my going forth predicted by the Sun-God,
he who ascends from the fissure of his mother;
what I have heard chanted by the baboons who greet
the ever-rising countenance of the Sky-Lord;
what my two ears have been opened to hear;
what my mouth, lips, and tongue have repeated;
what the metal of heaven has brought forth
from my earth at twilight;
these powers of the Nether Sky woven by the Imperishable Stars.
I have seen them coming forth by day at my side,
these Gods and spirits clad in the flight of sunbeams.

You Gods who fill the earth and sky,
you spirits whose wings span the two horizons,
and you travelers upon the winds,
I take your direction coming from the north;
rising like a star of unwearying light,
I become a flashing torch in the presence of the east.
The shades of the earth behold my luminous face;
with full and open eyes I bequeath them the gift of sight,
and they who were without sight suddenly behold.

It is a wonder to cross the threshold of Gods,
and this I accomplish in the form of a god.
With dappled plumage and a crest of blazing gold,
my lapis lazuli dazzles their eyes, and my turquoise shines
with beams entwined with the raiment of the sun.
Who calls my name there, opening up the east for my flight?
It is the Unwearying Stars who know my names
and pronounce the savor of a god at my approach;
not with the stride of a man, but with the lofty stroke of a bird.

I go forth by daybreak as a jabiru of effective light,
being diffused across that eastern horizon
where the mirror of the sky reigns over millions.
How far my mantle of pure gold is spread,
the span of my wings encompassing the far-traveling clouds.
Blue of lapis, green of turquoise, and fiery red of jasper;
I lay claim to your brilliant enchantments,
carrying these upon the crest of my wings
where come the distant spirits of the sky.

Who makes flight with me when I open the gates of the north?
It is the circumpolar stars whose faces endure for me,
whose bodies of light appear for the beating of my wings;
they manifest as indestructible gold in my heaven of lapis,
where dwell the Ancestral Souls whose torches burn unceasingly.

Approach, come near and open your eyes for me,
you Imperishables of millions of years;
for I am the son of the sky whose endurance is with him,
before whose starry tread impotence flees and death is rent.
Behold with your wholesome eyes my plumage of white light;
see how it glistens in the waters of the sky,
my feet of carnelian beneath me, and my throat of red jasper upon me.
I have brought with me the mantle of the two horizons;
they are thrown wide open for me at dawn and at eventide,
where their doors of electrum kiss the tips of my unsullied wings.

I have seen the western vault dance beneath my flight;
she has opened her mouth of starlight to proclaim me to hidden doors;
where the river is swallowed whole by the shade of the sky;
where her spirits convene as jabirus in her retinue of stars;
where her gap takes Elder Light within the hallows of the Netherworld;
where the dead come to this place of the hauling for their reckoning of years;
where the bleariness of the Sacred Eye is healed within its Mound;
where come the Star-Gods to revive the corpse of the sun;
where sing the Star-Goddesses to open the course of the eastern land;
where brightens the world from its kernel of darkness;
where are remembered the divine words through which the world is reborn.

For I have seen the time of the flood with my two eyes,
and I have beheld the ascension of the Gods to their Mound;
its earth became the resting place of the sun,
and its apex the going forth of the eternal sky.
With darkness beneath the face of the Mound,
the world of water was divided in its time;
and this was the first beginning of the Gods,
who have possessed creation before dark and light were twined.
Their water is still upon them in the west,
where all souls take flight as jabirus of light-dappled mantles;
and these are my souls, and these my mantles of radiant savor.

This is my going forth as a soul of infinite life;
I go forth as a jabiru upon unceasing winds.
The sacred eyes of the sky are filled with my splendors,
when I go forth as a jabiru to claim my millions of years.

All text copyright © 2016 Ptahmassu Nofra-Uaa

Leave a Reply

