Amun-Ra of Myrrh / Lead Me To Your Tree

Amun-Ra of Myrrh

I heard the call of myrrh from a lonely sky;
a tree of scented breath upon which the Gods ride,
sending out a divine cloud to bring me in;
a ba-soul of the Hidden One to soothe my wandering senses.

The myrrh tree fills my head with lofty sight,
with visions that spring from a well I thought buried;
but a cloud of intoxicating sky chased my eyes,
and He was the Lord of Winds pulling the earth in.

His Ram-Soul made a noise across the sky
like a trumpet blaring in the full light of day;
though it was night His flame caught my eyes and ears,
and with sky-clad lips He drew me to His sacred boughs.

Amun-Ra of myrrh and dust of gold,
concealed in plain sight where my senses find You;
by dawn Your sky-tree burns to scent the heavens,
and at nightfall enchants the earth with stellar fingers.

Eyes, lips, and hands doused in myrrh of the heights;
His skin seeks out every sense with its power,
and I am taken deep into waters of lapis-lazuli;
with perception as a boat I traverse His potent waters.

Tree above these waters I enter, make me a home;
within your boughs and branches hold a swallow,
who alights as this ba-soul of my keeping;
and let him drink that lapis water of sacred ground and vault.

Swallow of copper and gold, hawk of obsidian eye,
come down from Your branches to tell me the way;
for there is a road sweeping through the ordered stars,
being the Hidden One’s edict for my traveling soul.

Amun-Ra You have called me out of the earth
which held me like a sleeping stone;
with open mouth Your breath becomes my guide,
and You lead me to Your tree of starry myrrh in the sky.

I heard the call of the Gods from the eternal sky,
who bring the two regions together with stellar hands;
the Earth in His solitude, the Heavens in Her joy;
theirs is a union traveled by the ages of souls.

Let me be among those who travel the far reaches,
with breath of myrrh and wings of the morning swallow;
and may those Gods who summon the wind hear me
as I make my twilight cries across the wandering veil.

Beholding Your sacred tree on the evening horizon,
I step beneath branches that hold Ancestral souls;
these are mine in light or darkness,
the scent of generations my open mouth sends out.

Amun-Ra of myrrh and dust of stars,
revealed in hidden sight where my ba-soul finds You;
by dawn Your sky-tree burns to scent the heavens,
and at nightfall enchants the earth with stellar fingers.

All text copyright © 2016 Ptahmassu Nofra-Uaa

Leave a comment